5 th SAPEM

Symposium on the Acoustics of Poro-Elastic Materials

December 6-7-8, 2017
Le Mans, France

Download program


Download the full program.

Main building of Faculte de Droit

6 non-parallel sessions with 20-min talks are planned.

The topics of this 2017's edition are:

  • Characterization and measurement techniques,
  • Modeling,
  • Computational methods,
  • Materials with flow,
  • New materials,
  • Industrial applications.

Special attention will be paid to reserving time for discussion. A poster exhibition will also be organized.

5 keynote lectures are already scheduled at the beginning of the sessions:


Sep. 15 (2017) : deadline for abstract submissions.
Oct. 16 : notification of acceptation for abstracts.
Oct. 27 : deadline for early registrations.
Dec. 6 to 8 (2017) : the conference ! (the program is already available)

Abstract submission

There is no requirement to submit a full paper. Presenters should submit an abstract of up to 1 500 words or two pages, including details of their presentations and references.

The Conference Committee reserves the right to decline submissions that are not in line with the objectives of the event.

Proceedings will be collected and compiled from presentation slides/videos.
A selection of presentation will be recommended for publication in a special section of a peer-review journal after SAPEM (see Acta Acust. U. Acust. 96(2), 2010 and J. Acoust. Soc. Am. 134(6), 2013) so be prepared to present and to submit your most impressive work on acoustical porous media or related topics.


Registrations are open at https://www.conforg.fr/bin/IA/reg_sapem2017
The conference fees will include access to the proceedings, lunches and social events.

Before October 20th 2017 (early bird registrations), the fees are 400 euros per participant.
Fees are reduced to 350 euros for members of the societies of the EAA and 250 for PhD students (on presentation of a valid student card).

After October 20th 2017 (late bird registrations), the fees are 460 euros per participant, 410 euros for members of the societies of the EAA and 310 euros for PhD students.


The conference will be held at:

Le Mans Université
Faculté de Droit
Avenue Olivier Messiaen,
72000 Le Mans

(link opens Google maps. The red pin on the map aside indicates the entrance of the "Faculté de Droit" main building inside the campus).

How to travel to "Faculté de Droit" inside the university campus:

by plane
Paris-Charles De Gaulle (also known as Roissy) is the closest airport from Le Mans. Paris-Orly or Nantes Atlantique airport are alternatives (with more train connections to Le Mans). In any case, you will have to continue your journey by train from these airports to Le Mans train station.

by train
Direct high-speed trains (TGV) from Paris (∼1 hour) or Paris-Charles de Gaulle airport (∼1.5 hour) will bring you to Le Mans train station.

by tram from downtown
Take tram T1 from the train station, via the city center, to "Campus-Ribay" stop (direction "Université", second to last stop). The journey is 20 minute-long from the train station and 15 min-long from the city center.
More information can be found on Setram's website.

by car
Le Mans is at the junction between highways A11, A28 and A81.
The closest exit to the campus is exit 8 (Le Mans Ouest) on A11.


Here is a list of some hotels in downtown Le Mans:

Hôtel Mercure Le Mans Centre
19 rue Chanzy
Tel: +33 243402240 / email: H5641@accor.com

Hôtel Ibis Le Mans Centre
Quai Ledru Rollin
GPS: N 48° 0' 25.36'' E 0° 11' 29.32''
Tel: +33 243231823 / email: H0780@accor.com

Hôtel Le Charleston
18/20 rue Gastelier
Special offer (indicate the reference “CHJARLY” when booking):
Twin room with breakfast – EUR 70 per night
City tax – EUR 1.10 per person and per night

Hôtel Ibis Styles Le Mans Gare Sud
79 Boulevard Alexandre Oyon
Special offer (indicate “DENORMS / SAPEM” when booking):
Individual room with breakfast – EUR 82 per night
Twin room with breakfast – EUR 92 per night
City tax – EUR 1.10 per person and per day

Hôtel Première classe Palais des Congrès
40 rue du vert galant

You can also try AirBnB


SAPEM 2017 is sponsored by:



SAPEM 2017 is supported by the European Acoustics Association (EAA) and the Acoustical Society of America (ASA)

Scientific committee

The scientific committee is composed by:
Keith Attenborough (Open-University London, UK)
Yves Aurégan (LAUM – CNRS, France)
Susann Boij (KTH, Sweden)
Stuart Bolton (Purdue University, USA)
Laurent De Ryck (LMS Siemens, Belgium)
Elke Deckers (KULeuven Belgium)
Ludovic Desvard (Dyson, UK)
Arnaud Duval (Treves, France)
Peter Göransson (KTH, Sweden)
Kirill Horoshenkov (Sheffield University, UK)
Anton Krynkin (Univ. Sheffield, UK)
Emmanuel Perrey-Debain (UTC, France)
Vicente Romero-Garcia (LAUM – CNRS, France)

Organizing committee

This 2017's edition of SAPEM is organized by
Olivier Dazel, Jean-Philippe Groby, Aroune Duclos, Sandrine Chassagne from University of Maine,
Jean-Christophe Le Roux from CTTM,
François-Xavier Bécot and Luc Jaouen from Matelys,
The French Acoustical Society (SFA).


Should you need further information or have particular inquiries, contact us at sapem@matelys.com